Frankfurt am Main | 13 – 20 October 2024

Moving Monuments

Two casts of Roman statues have been in the collection of the Munich Art Academy for over 200 years and are marked by iconoclastic assaults. In their fragile condition, they vividly demonstrate the twists and turns of history. For the exhibition, the two larger-than-life plaster figures were transported from the basement of the Academy to the Colossus Hall. A room that was specially designed and built for the staging of a Colossus. With its representative apse, the room becomes a stage on which the sculptures’ agencies (Powers of action) are questioned in a play between exaltation and ironisation.

The title of the exhibition "moving monuments" has a double meaning: "moving monuments" refers to the influence of these works of art on their recipients, which can be both positive and negative. Feelings that are evoked by means of mechanisms and were consciously created in the works of art. With the help of their bodies, five contemporary dancers explored the two plaster casts in instant compositions through movement sequences arising from mirroring, repetition or changes of perspective in order to develop possibilities of breaking out of and undercutting these mechanisms. In constantly changing constellations, the sculptures are choreographically aligned by the performers in relation to the space, whereby they interact with the visitors in ever new ways. The mobility of the sculptures is meant as a proposal to allow new perspectives on the handling of historical artefacts and monuments and to point out common modes of representation of political and educational relations.

Stills

Film Info

Info

Title
Moving Monuments
Color Format
  • Colour

Crew

Director

Director

  • Dominik Bais

    Dominik Bais, born on 6 February 1992 in Ulm, first studied art at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich and then Time-Based-Media in the class of Julian Rosefeldt, which he successfully completed in 2021 as "Meisterschüler of Julian Rosefeldt".

B3 Moving Image Forum

O ce an fl i gh t by Jonny-Bix Bongers
Germany 3D
All That Remains by Craig Quintero
Hineini by Ariel Jacob, Joshua Gundlach
Game
Over The Rainbow by Craig Quintero

Frankfurt am Main | 13. – 20. Oktober 2024

Moving Monuments

Zwei Abgüsse römischer Statuen befinden sich seit über 200 Jahren in der Sammlung der Münchner Kunstakademie und sind von ikonoklastischen Übergriffen gezeichnet. In ihrem fragilen Zustand veranschaulichen sie eindrücklich die Wendungen der Geschichte. Für die Ausstellung wurden die beiden überlebensgroßen Gipsfiguren aus dem Keller der Akademie in die Kolosshalle transportiert. Ein Raum, der speziell entworfen und gebaut wurde, um einen Koloss in Szene zu setzen. Mit seiner repräsentativen Apsis wird der Raum zur Bühne, auf der die Handlungsmöglichkeiten (Agenden) der Skulpturen in einem Spiel zwischen Verherrlichung und Ironisierung hinterfragt werden.

Der Titel der Ausstellung "bewegende Monumente" hat eine doppelte Bedeutung: "bewegende Monumente" bezieht sich auf den Einfluss dieser Kunstwerke auf ihre Empfänger, der sowohl positiv als auch negativ sein kann. Gefühle, die durch Mechanismen hervorgerufen und in den Kunstwerken bewusst erzeugt wurden. Mit Hilfe ihrer Körper erkundeten fünf zeitgenössische Tänzer die beiden Gipsabgüsse in spontanen Kompositionen durch Bewegungsabläufe, die aus Spiegelung, Wiederholung oder Perspektivwechsel entstehen, um Möglichkeiten zu entwickeln, diese Mechanismen zu durchbrechen und zu unterlaufen. In ständig wechselnden Konstellationen werden die Skulpturen choreographisch von den Performern in Beziehung zum Raum ausgerichtet, wobei sie in immer neuen Weisen mit den Besuchern interagieren. Die Mobilität der Skulpturen soll als Vorschlag dienen, neue Perspektiven im Umgang mit historischen Artefakten und Denkmälern zu ermöglichen und gängige Darstellungsformen politischer und bildungspolitischer Beziehungen aufzuzeigen.

Stills

Film Info

Info

Titel
Moving Monuments
Farbformat
  • Farbe

Crew

Regie

Regie

  • Dominik Bais

    Dominik Bais, geboren am 6. Februar 1992 in Ulm, studierte zunächst Kunst an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München und danach Zeitbasierte Medien in der Klasse von Julian Rosefeldt. Dieses Studium schloss er erfolgreich im Jahr 2021 als "Meisterschüler von Julian Rosefeldt" ab.

B3 Forum bewegtes Bild

It's Raining, It's Pouring von Ronan Mackenzie
Vereinigtes Königreich Animation
Hotel Kalura von Sophie Koko Gate
Vereinigtes Königreich Animation
Haus Atlantis von Karen Russo
The District VR von Dennis Lisk
Deutschland VR - AR