Frankfurt am Main | 13 – 20 October 2024

Marjorie Bendeck Regalado

Originally from Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Marjorie studied music, communication science and marketing (BA) before moving to Mexico City to engage in film studies at the National Cinematheque and act as producer for photography exhibits and international events. She completed a graduate course in film production at the International Film School in Cuba (EICTV) in 2002 and worked for the industry office of the Havana Film Festival.

In 2003, she honed her skills in script assessment, development, international financing, sales and marketing at the Recorded Picture Company and Hanway Films in London. She then moved to Germany, where besides producing short animation films (screened in over 300 festivals including Annecy, SXSW and Oberhausen), she headed the selection committee and the participants coordination of Berlinale Talents until 2012.

In 2015 she completed an MA in organizational psychology at the University of Wuppertal.

She is a member of the selection committee at ACE Producers and the Berlinale World Cinema Fund. As a script advisor she has worked with Rawi Script Lab and ScripTeast. She has worked as programming advisor for festivals, including Berlinale NATIVe, a journey into indigenous cinema.

As an experienced pitch trainer, she is regularly engaged at the Rotterdam IFFR Pro and the Mediterranean Film Institute, among others industry events.

She was appointed director of Connecting Cottbus in 2018, a co-production market focused on feature film projects from Eastern Europe. Since 2022 she is also project manager of the Locarno Open Doors Co-Production Hub.

Frankfurt am Main | 12. – 20. Oktober 2024

Marjorie Bendeck Regalado

Marjorie kommt aus Tegucigalpa, Honduras. Sie hat Musik, Kommunikationswissenschaft und Marketing (BA) studiert bevor sie nach Mexico City ging, um an der National Cinematheque Film zu studieren und sich als Produzentin von Fotoausstellungen und internationalen Veranstaltungen zu betätigen. Des weiteren absolvierte sie 2002 einen postgradualen Studiengang in Filmproduktion an der internationalen Filmschule in Kuba (EICTV) und arbeitete im Industry-Büro des Havanna Film Festivals.

2003 baute sie ihre Fähigkeiten in der Beurteilung von Drehbüchern, in der Projektentwicklung, in internationaler Finanzierung sowie Sales & Marketing bei der Record Picture Company und bei Hanway Films in London aus. Anschließend zog sie nach Deutschland. Dort produzierte sie kurze Animationsfilme, die auf über 300 Festivals (u.a. Annecy, SXSW, Oberhausen) liefen, und sie leitete bis 2012 das Auswahlkomitee und die Teilnehmerkoordination bei Berlinale Talents.

2015 machte sie ihren Master in Organisationspsychologie an der Universität Wuppertal.

Marjorie ist Mitglied des Auswahlkomitees bei ACE Producers und des Berlinale World Cinema Fund. Sie war Drehbuchberaterin bei RAWI Script Lab und ScripTeast und hat als Programmberaterin für Festivals gearbeitet, z.B. bei der Berlinale für die Sektion NATIVe, einer Reise in die Welt des indigenen Kinos. Als erfahrene Pitching-Trainerin wird sie regelmäßig bei Veranstaltungen wie dem Rotterdam IFFR Pro und dem Mediterranean Film Institute gebucht.

2018 wurde sie zur Direktorin von Connecting Cottbus ernannt, einem Koproduktionsmarkt für Spielfilmprojekte aus Osteuropa. Seit 2022 ist sie auch Projektleiterin des Locarno Open Doors Co-Production Hub.